Tombstones and ghosts and lost dogs, oh my!

My holiday weekend has been full of all sorts of excitement and new experiences (okay, I stayed home Friday night and watched horror flicks, but it was still good).

Unfortunately, the Oakwood Cemetery tour (the annual Murder, Mayhem, and Misadventure Walking Tour) provided by Save Austin Cemeteries is only available during daylight hours due to the grounds being locked at night (I understand why, but an old cemetery tour at night sounds amazing to me).  While some of the names on the tombstones made me have to restrain giggles (*coughGlasscockcough*), I learned a lot about the location and the individuals featured in this year’s tour (many thanks to the volunteer actors who told the stories about the individuals in the graves!)

I had intended to try Halloween on 6th Street this year, but after the rains and walking around a graveyard midday I didn’t have either the energy or enthusiasm for that type of adventure.  I searched for interesting sounding events on the Austin Chronicle’s website and decided that I wanted to check out the Historic Georgetown Ghost Tour put on by The Williamson Museum.  While Google Maps on my phone didn’t work very well to get me to the Georgetown Square the remainder of the experience was quite fun.  Our guide was funny and knowledgeable (even if I discovered that I was being stalked by the whole “Glasscock” thing…guess who Georgetown is named for!), and the other people in my tour group had good senses of humour. I even had fun in my spiderweb dress and full petticoat since other people had come in costume as well. I had wanted to find somewhere for coffee/dessert after the tour, but the person I invited to join me wouldn’t come out, and I was pretty beat.  It turned out to be fortuitous since I’d forgotten about the time change until I got home plus the dogs were thrilled I was  back!

Now…the lost dog…the rescuer continues to be strong with me, but I had no intention of helping a dog find his way home this morning when I was walking Suzuka and Miki.  I saw a loose yellow lab at the end of a street near Metric.  I tensed up because Suzu has been attacked by dogs since she’s gotten older, and when a dog is loose it can be hard to know how they’ll react to my leashed dog.  Unfortunately, I then saw the dog dodge a few cars, which made me have to help him.  I also thought he was the yellow lab from the end of the street (I’ve seen the dog getting runs with his dad’s bike in the mornings), so getting him home would be easy.  By this time he’d approached and been friendly and mostly appropriate with my two geriatric dogs, so I pulled out my spare leash to try getting him home.  To my dismay he didn’t have any tags, but I was still thinking he lived just a few houses down the street…until I heard their dog barking at us from behind the fence.  Argh. Miki was also being pissy with the new guy (turns out the loose dog wasn’t neutered), but I did my best to get all three dogs back to the house to drop off my two and head back out to try finding the lab’s home.  After asking several people along the street where the loose dog was found someone managed to decipher the faded writing on his collar.  Being game to see if the address was correct we headed to the next neighborhood over to see if the big guy had people looking for him.  Of course, Bogart’s (his name turned out to be Borgart) lived almost all the way to Mopac on their street, but he had gotten out during the rains last night, and they were worried sick about him (his mom gave me a hug).  He lives with a small rat terriery looking dog, two cats, and a little boy who was sure his dog would come safely home.  I’m glad I was able to make that happen for him…my Sunday morning was completely out of whack thanks to helping Bogart, but I can’t say it was a waste of my time.  He’s one dog who didn’t end up in a shelter because I took some time to find his family, and he was a really pleasant boy even if Miki didn’t approve.

About jlscaife

30 something year old animal rescuer, aspiring writer, and all around geek
This entry was posted in hobbies, update and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

