Still Recovering

I don’t get sick often, but when I do I manage to get myself in a pretty bad way.  I feel tons better, but I still have a nasty cough, and I didn’t get a decent night’s sleep until this past Friday. This morning I discovered that I somehow didn’t have enough antibiotics to make it the full ten days, so I had to call the urgent care clinic to try to get more meds (we’re still not sure what happened since I don’t think I accidentally took six doses too early, and the pharmacy claims they gave me the full forty pills).  Fortunately, the doctor was willing to prescribe three more days worth of meds to get me through the full ten days.

Count Chocula

Finding Count Chocula at Walgreen’s last night excited me way more than it should since eating has been a real chore while I’ve been sick.  Things don’t taste very good, and my throat is still a little raw since I won’t stop coughing.  I mixed it with some yogurt (my mom, who I hadn’t heard from all week, texted me suddenly on Friday morning to make sure I was taking precautions to avoid getting a yeast infection…yeah, I boggled and then laughed hysterically) and binged on about half o the 10.4 ounce box.  I think I’m taking the rest to work to feed my co-workers because I am now truly sick of Count Chocula.

Despite being sick last week I still went to the ACL late night Meg Myers concert at Stubb’s, which was so worth it! I have a T-shirt to prove I was there plus I bought two of her albums on iTunes.  The opening act was a little slow and low key in comparison to Meg’s alternative/punk rocky style, but I’m still glad I went.  Stubb’s is also a very non-threatening venue, even if I did end up parked across from the downtown homeless shelter.  I’m getting a better idea of where to find parking downtown, so I shouldn’t run into trouble when I go to the show at Dirty Dog next Friday.  Hopefully, I’m no longing trying to expel my lungs via my throat by that point, but it’s a punk rock show; no one will be able to hear me hacking anyway!

I’m trying to get to bellydance tonight since I’m no longer contagious, but a lot depends on how much steam I have left.  I did get a short nap today, so I think I’ll manage.  I need to see the ladies in my class; they cheer me up a lot.

Overall, I’m doing much better than I was a few months back.  I’m laughing a lot more and just being okay being me.  There are things that still get me down, but I think I’m in a better headspace.  I’m just focusing on dressing up for fun and having a good time.  I didn’t go out this weekend because I wanted time to rest up a bit, but I’m going to find a way to do activities at least a couple of weekends a month.  If I can get one of my co-workers to go out dancing with me that’d be cool (no, it’s nothing romantic, but I think he and I would have fun being crazy clubbing together), but I’ll go myself if no one will go with me. I also finally got my corset dry cleaned at the place across from work although I had to explain what it was to the lady at the store (she charged me for a blouse).

Work has slowed for the moment, which is concerning, but everyone tells me it’s pretty normal for this time of year (well, everyone who has been at the company for more than a few years).  I’ve gotten to help in shipping some and sort of bounce around where I’m needed, which is a-okay with me.  It’d be great if business picked up again, but I’m just going to do the best I can with what we currently have.  That’s all I can do to make sure my position is stable at the moment.  If things get bad enough I know I have a good reference, and Aerotek will find me another placement.  They’ve proven a good agency, so working with them wouldn’t be a bad choice in the future.

O

About jlscaife

30 something year old animal rescuer, aspiring writer, and all around geek
This entry was posted in update and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

