So I Saw ‘Ant-Man’

500201695f959

Last night I did something I haven’t done in all my years of geekery…I joined a large group of other nerds, geeks, and non-mainstreamish types to view a movie for us in the theater. I’ve done mass viewings of geek media in other people’s homes, but I’d never owned my geek pride publicly outside of a convention. It was both overwhelming and cool, but since I might not have seen Ant-Man in theaters without the push I’m glad that the Austin Geeks and Gamers meet up had the event!

I was actually felt a little out-geeked when I first met up with the group before the movie. Many people were chatting about comic book topics I knew nothing about and other geek things I’d heard of but had no opinions on. I felt very, very mundane since I had no thoughts to share. However, I did manage to connect with a couple of other women who were definitely geeks but related to comic book movies more like I did (plus one of them was just really vivacious and happy to share lots of thoughts about anything and everything).

Hanging out at Baby A’s afterwards was a lot more fun because we could share thoughts on the movie itself, and my end of the table moved to all sorts of fandom topics from Farscape to Stargate SG-1) to the horror of the Star Wars Christmas Special to Game of Thrones. It probably helped that we’d been stuck in a theater with each other for about 2 1/2 hours as well, so we’d decided that no one would actually bite unless asked very, very nicely! I was exhausted when I got home, but it’s good that I forced myself out to be social even if I looked more weird Goth than geek in my BPAL babydoll, shorts, black and white striped tights, and Mary Jane style flats.

But what did I think of the movie? To be honest Ant-Man will not stand out as one of the best Marvel Cinematic Universe movies, but it’s fun enough to be worth seeing on the big screen. I saw it in 3D, but I think that’s definitely optional. Nothing is so amazing that I would have missed seeing it on 2D. If you have a problem with ants this is NOT the movie for you…there’s a lot of stuff with tiny Ant-Man and his insectoid friends. The first hour felt really, really slow, but when it picked up I stayed focused and didn’t feel like I needed to check the time. I agree with my other viewers that it’s a solid B or B+ movie; it won’t stick with you long, but it’s a decent addition to the MCU. Hopefully, later installments with Ant-Man will keep up the momentum of the second half of the film.

About jlscaife

30 something year old animal rescuer, aspiring writer, and all around geek
This entry was posted in opinion, reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

