The Exhaustion of Being an Extroverted Introvert

alone-not-left-alone

I love people (well most of them), and when I like someone being around them and interacting with them brings out a sarcastically funny, engaging individual who can be the life of any situation. Sure, her humour is often pretty off-colour, and she isn’t always the most tactful or tasteful personality (you probably wouldn’t take her to meet your mom unless your mom is very progressive). However, if I like someone but don’t really know them that well interacting with them is also extremely draining. I can play an extrovert very well, but it saps my reserves dreadfully until I reach a point where I crash dramatically. Unfortunately, I hit this point at work today.

I genuinely like my co-workers, but sharing an office and constantly having people around me subtly taps into my energy. It’s unreasonable to expect a regular office environment to not have any human interaction, but I haven’t been practicing enough self-care in letting myself reset. Admittedly, I’ve been working six days a week since I started, and I’ve had other events on Sundays that involve being around people. Yoga is great for me, but it’s partially social, and after class I’ve been going to my parents’ house to see them and help Dad with office stuff. This schedule has translated into having very little time for myself, and I need to fix this. A few hours at night watching TV isn’t enough. I crashed at work recently for a variety of reasons, but a big one is emotional exhaustion from interaction. To the Introvert Cave for transformation into HERMIT WOMAN!

About jlscaife

30 something year old animal rescuer, aspiring writer, and all around geek
This entry was posted in health, update and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

