2014 ZERO Prostate Run/Walk Austin

faf239x142austin2014

Many of you have seen my links to my fundraising page for the ZERO Prostate Cancer Run/Walk Austin go out on Facebook and Twitter. My dad is a prostate cancer survivor, and he’ll be walking in the event while I’m running in the 5K. The Austin event is sponsored by Urology Austin and will take place on Saturday, October 18, 2014 at Camp Mabry. The race is part of the ZERO Prostate Cancer Challenge – the premier men’s health event series in America – coming to more than three-dozen cities across the nation in 2014.

I’ve set a modest goal of $101 because I know that many of my friends have budgets like mine where money hemorrhages out much faster than it comes in. If I can get 20 people to donate $5 each, I’ll meet my goal (I started it off with a $5 donation on top of my registration fee). That $100 will go to test a man in need to help people survive like my dad thanks to early diagnosis!

All dollars raised are split 50/50 between our local community and national efforts to fund research, testing, and education for men and their families.

50 cents of every dollar raised stays in the local community to fund research, testing and support.

50 cents of every dollar funds national advocacy efforts to increase and protect federal dollars for prostate cancer research. Every dollar dedicated to advocacy is converted into $9 for research!

Since 2008, ZERO has awarded $1.5M toward research and local prostate cancer programs and provided more than 50,000 free tests.

If you can help out, please check out my donation page! . Every little bit helps!

About jlscaife

30 something year old animal rescuer, aspiring writer, and all around geek
This entry was posted in exercise and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

