Prepping for My Second Race: Hydration

I have my second race coming up on Monday, and I’m trying to apply some of the things I learned about my abilities in the Cap 10K to this new run. The Stars and Stripes is only a 5K race, but Texas summer is looming, so I know I’ll have a much harder time with this run than something I might try in mid-winter. At least I know not to wear a sweatshirt even if we do have rain!

The biggest thing I took from the Cap10K though was the importance of hydration. I began flagging earlier than I should have because I passed the first water station. This time I will bring my own sports bottle like the one pictured below to make sure I can get water when I need it.

sba161_kgr

I had to dig through my stash of water bottles to find one that didn’t have just a flat cap, but the one I found is currently waiting for the next dishwasher load to get cleaned out. I’ll have to carry it while I run, but it’s no more difficult than holding a leash while running, and the water’s a lot more useful. I’ll see if this makes a noticeable difference on the Camp Mabry course on Monday.

About jlscaife

30 something year old animal rescuer, aspiring writer, and all around geek
This entry was posted in exercise and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

