A Few Book Thoughts: Her Dark Curiosity by Megan Shepherd, Panic by Lauren Oliver, and Thief of Shadows by Elizabeth Hoyt

I’ve been doing a lot of reading in the past few weeks, but I haven’t been able to put my thoughts together enough to form a full review. I mainly have strong impressions about certain parts of the books that I’d like to share with people, but the effort of fully reviewing each one seems like a bit of a chore. Two of these books are newish YA, and the third is a not at all new romance that had some unique elements.

51BXQy2uYoL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

First, I have to admit that my anticipation for Her Dark Curiosity by Megan Shepherd probably skewed my response to it. I enjoyed the dark, creepy environment of the first book, The Madman’s Daughter, and HDC doesn’t do nearly a good job of delivering an eerie setting. While I’ve read reviews criticizing the focus on the love triangle, I can’t fault Shepherd for exploring more about the strange emotions tying Juliet, Edward, and Montgomery together. However, I can’t deny that this re-imagining of “The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde” just doesn’t feel as compelling as its predecessor. The final book in the trilogy will be Shepherd’s interpretation of Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, which disappoints me a little. It’s such an obvious piece, but if the story recaptures the mysterious feel of The Madman’s Daughter I’ll be content.

51PLQI6VTcL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

Second, I pre-ordered Lauren Oliver’s latest novel, Panic, and I read it over the weekend. I was shocked at how deeply I was able to immerse myself into the world of Carp, NY and the crazy teen game called Panic. A lot of things happen, but for me, the story is a character piece about teens growing up and figuring out what they need. It’s more similar in feel to Oliver’s first novel, Before I Fall than the Delirium trilogy, but I do recommend giving it a try. It may speak to you the way it did to me even if you’ve never experienced the boredom of summer in a small town struggling to find yourself.

51N3e5kzanL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

Third, I finished reading Thief of Shadows, the fourth book in Elizabeth Hoyt’s Maiden Lane series, last night, and if you want a historical with an older heroine and younger hero, this may be the book for you! Isabel is thirty-two to Winter’s twenty-six, and he is sexually inexperienced, a rarity to see in romance novels. There’s not much more to say about the book although I’ve greatly enjoyed the Maiden Lane novels. Those two factors jumped out at me though, and it was refreshing to see them in a historical.

About jlscaife

30 something year old animal rescuer, aspiring writer, and all around geek
This entry was posted in reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

