Joining the 21st Century

I’ve clung to basic cell phones for a very long time, mainly because the extra expense of a smart phone really wasn’t in the budget. I told myself that I didn’t need something that could access the internet or use fun apps; as long as I could talk and text everything was fine. However, Sprint, my long time mobile provider suddenly stopped providing voice service at my home. My calls to customer service, visit to the store, and contact online left me frustrated and angry. No one seemed to have a real solution for the problem, and I couldn’t use my cell phone at my home at all.

So, yesterday, I ditched Sprint for Verizon, and I made the move to get a shiny new iPhone 4S.

color_black

With a two year contract (I know, I know, but I needed to go cheap) I could get the 8GB model for only 99 cents, so it was the logical choice even with the newer 5C and 5S available (for $99.99 or $199.99 my choice was easy). I did end up spending more than I’d intended on a case to protect the phone since I’d severely damaged my previous phone right after the warranty expired, so I’d had to live with a broken screen for nearly a year. Now I’m busily figuring out my new phone and am loving the ability to check email and browse the internet via my phone. Don’t expect to see me much for a while!

About jlscaife

30 something year old animal rescuer, aspiring writer, and all around geek
This entry was posted in technology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Joining the 21st Century

  1. Beth C. says:

    I resisted the smart phone thing for years. Once you have it, you get spoiled really fast. I have an iPhone, too.

Leave a Reply

