Worth A Thousand Words

Finding the right photo for writings that I post online can be tough. It’s easy enough when I’m doing a review for something because I can ask the creators ahead of time for permission to utilize cover artwork or even just utilize the artwork without prior permission since nothing I post makes me money. Also, my reviews work as free publicity for the indie stuff I like to promote.

However, I ran into a dilemma this week when I wrote an opinion piece where just taking cover art or published material would be inappropriate. However, the right photograph helps create the feel of the written piece better than the words on their own. I initially asked a close friend and photographer, Liann, if she had a photo that would fit my work, but she unfortunately didn’t have what I was looking for, so I headed to the wilds of the internet to try to track something down.

Google Images is a difficult place to navigate when you’re concerned about the ownership of the picture or photo. However, I got lucky when I tripped across a gorgeous photo on Deviant Art belonging to hobby photographer Vikram K Mulligan. I contacted him, and he has graciously allowed me to use one of his pieces to illustrate my writing. The piece won’t go live until late in October, but I just wanted to give him a shout out for his generosity in sharing his art with me!

About jlscaife

30 something year old animal rescuer, aspiring writer, and all around geek
This entry was posted in opinion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

