Portia and Roscoe — A Story of a Girl and Her Dog Part 2

“Portia, you are not leaving with a dog today,” I cautioned myself sternly as I wandered the kennels of the local limited intake facility. I couldn’t believe I was here at all given how firmly I protested to Alena and Monica about not being ready for a canine companion. Something had drawn me in as I drove by on the way to make a grocery run, and I felt powerless against the Universe’s signal that I needed to stop and look. “You also want a mellow, average adult dog. Average is good.”

“Did you have any questions?” A perky brunette sporting a volunteer shirt materialized at my shoulder, a warm smile spreading across her face. “If you need more info about any of the dogs, I’m more than happy to help.”

I opened my mouth to say that I was just looking, but my brain had other plans. “Who are your longest stay dogs?”

The volunteer’s face lit up, and she lightly gripped my arm. “Come this way. I’ll introduce you to Prince Twinkletoes!”

I mentally rolled my eyes at the poor dog’s ridiculous name and assumed he was some small fluffy dog who just had been unlucky in finding the right match. However, my guide stopped in front of a large kennel with a muscular black beast.

Prince Twinkletoes jumped and barked as we approached, and I flinched away a little when I saw his blocky head. “You didn’t mention that he was a pit mix…” I trailed off as I watched the overaroused dog desperately try to calm himself.

The volunteer’s shoulders dropped a little, but she forced a smile. “Prince Twinkletoes has been her for about nine months, but we do have other long termers if you prefer. He’s just a real volunteer favourite.”

I looked back at the horribly named dog to see Prince Twinkletoes pausing in his relentless motion to look me directly in the eye. Something softened in my chest, and I felt a strong need to know this particular dog without the kennel bars between us.

“Actually could I meet this one?”

About jlscaife

30 something year old animal rescuer, aspiring writer, and all around geek
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

