Adding Another Quarter Mile

Today is September 1st, and it signals the day that Patience and I add another quarter mile on the middle school track. That quarter mile is just an extra lap around the track, but psychologically it means a lot. We have gotten stronger and can handle a little extra distance. I don’t count the run to and from my house in the running distance with Patience because I really don’t know how far it is. I take two different routes depending on the day of the week (Thursdays is a shorter route that keeps me in the neighborhood while I run along a major roadway on Sundays).

The heat and humidity this morning was pretty intense, but we still finished.  Patience has even gotten over her issues about having to just run in a circle with no dogs to bark at.

Image

Patience is the leggy redhead prostrating herself before an underage boy.  The handsome little man is Chico, a 6-7 month old dachshund/something much larger mix, who is currently available for adoption at the Austin Humane Society.

My extra quarter mile is also significant because on Sundays I run with Patience and then take Perdy out for a 2 mile walk/run combo. By the time I’m done I’m ready to just take a shower and relax for a little while. After all that running around I think I’ve earned it.

Perdy

Here is Perdy looking unimpressed at the idea of running more than she has to.

About jlscaife

30 something year old animal rescuer, aspiring writer, and all around geek
This entry was posted in exercise and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Adding Another Quarter Mile

  1. Jess Wilson says:

    Oh Perds, you’re so stinkin cute. Congratulations on adding the quarter mile! Great job!

Leave a Reply

