What I Do To Make An Actual Living

Much as I’d like to be independently wealthy and tinker about on WordPress for one of my fabulously indulgent hobbies it simply isn’t the case. Like the vast majority of the world I need a job to fund things like eating, putting gasoline in my car, providing for my animals, and funding my hobbies.

I currently work for my father’s small family business. When I say small I’m deathly serious; my dad and I are currently the only two employees. At the company’s largest I was one of four employees. Group Five, Inc is one of the many small companies that have floundered along in the semiconductor industry as its heyday has come to an end. I’m not knowledgeable about semiconductor equipment or how wafers are made, and my degrees are in Spanish and international studies with a minor in economics that was cobbled together through some of the classes I used to fulfill my international studies degree. So, what do I bring to the table?

I lived in Japan for a year as a college student, so I speak the language and understand the customs more than the average American. Since most of Group Five’s business is with Japan I can actually be quite helpful in this sense. However, my biggest contribution is that I’m efficient and speedy with administrative work. My official title is administrative assistant although I do all manner of jobs as needed. I file shipping paper work and process outbound international shipments, file the monthly export insurance premium, process outgoing checks, post invoices, post bills, and answer phones as well as anything else that may crop up such as inventory count. We’re small enough that I have a lot of down time, but I do help keep the business going. My dad has also dealt with a lot of medical issues in the past few years including eyesight problems. I’m younger and have better eyes, so I do a lot of the detail work stuff for reading and typing small print.

I do a lot of my writing during the quiet times at the office, but lately I just haven’t had the drive. My allergies are bad this week, which doesn’t help, but some days I just want to sit in my desk chair and watch The Yankee Marshall on YouTube to learn about guns.I’m usually more energized when I get home simply because I need some power to keep five dogs and three cats happy. However, since my days start anywhere from 5:30 to 6:30 seven days a week I’m out by 9:30 at the latest. The animals don’t love that I leave the house for my job, but they do like to eat. I think they’d be heartily disappointed if I stayed home and reduced the food!

About jlscaife

30 something year old animal rescuer, aspiring writer, and all around geek
This entry was posted in job, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

